Tricking the Mind: Mantras to Get Through a Natural, Unmedicated Childbirth

by Lauren Kay Weber

20 Printable Mantras for a Natural, Unmedicated Childbirth

I’ve posted previously about my experience reading Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth (you can read about it here).  Ina May repeatedly shares stories in which a mantra makes all of the difference for the birthing mama.  From a mother whose cervix dilates to mammoth proportions while repeating to herself “I’m gonna get HUGE.  I’m gonna get HUGE.” to a woman who just needed to remember that childbirth is a natural, healthy experience, I became convinced that I needed to craft some mantras for myself in preparation for Asher’s birth.  When we took our childbirth class, which was focused primarily on having a natural, unmedicated childbirth, the instructor recommended some to use in nightly and morning meditation (more on that later).  Unfortunately, not too many of those really resonated with me.  So, I decided to write my own.

I did some research on mantras and also adapted some from Ina May’s book, but I also spent some time writing some that came from a kind of unknown space within me.  In the end, I came up with twenty, which – granted – is quite a few.  My theory is that I’m not quite sure what will resonate with me when I’m actually in the moment, so I better over prepare.  I designed them all pretty-like in a soothing color palette, printed them, cut them out and laminated them (since we’re planning on a water birth).

Since I had them all ready to use for myself, I thought that I would share them with you guys, since I actually know quite a few people who are expecting here within the next couple of months.  You can download the PDFs below.  Or, if you’re a wiz with Photoshop (the program in which I created them), I’m happy to send the PSD files to you directly if you would like to customize them for yourself on the template that I’ve created… Just leave me a comment below with your email address.

Birthing Mantras Page 1Birthing Mantras Page 2

PDF Downloads:  Birthing Mantras Page 1Birthing Mantras Page 2

