Building the Toolbox: Flashcards for Labor Strategies

by Lauren Kay Weber

You may have seen that I recently shared a set of 20 mantras that I either found or wrote to use during my labor with Asher.  If you haven’t, let me catch you up to speed:  Josh and I have opted to have our labor and delivery out of hospital in a natural, unmedicated childbirth.  We’ll be using a midwife, paired with a student studying to become a midwife, and are planning to have a water birth.  Think we’re crazy?  You wouldn’t be the only one.  Still, it’s the right decision for us… and one that we will both share our thoughts on after Asher is born, since there is no such thing as an “ideal” birth and we would rather comment on what actually happened instead of what we hope to happen.

Anywho…

I’m in the midst of finishing up a project that will prepare us for labor, since we’re both first-timers and all.  I’ve gathered a bunch of resources for getting through labor, between my own readings and our childbirth class, but none of it is very easily usable in the setting of labor.  As they currently stand, they are all either buried under pages and pages of text or stored up in my noggin’, neither of which I trust to be easily accessible in the throes of labor.  So!  I decided awhile back to pluck them out from where they currently exist, tangible or not, and put them into something physical and easy to use in a labor resource notebook.  The mantras mentioned above are part of that effort, and I come to you today with part 2:  flashcards of ideas for labor coping strategies, from non-traditional labor positions to techniques for relaxation, speeding up labor and more.

Building the Toolbox:  Labor Coping Strategy Flashcards for a Natural, Unmedicated Birth

Just a couple notes if you’re gonna be using these yourself… First, these cards are sized and colored differently than the mantras for easy use during labor.  Second, if you’re Photoshop savvy and want to edit these, just leave me a message in the comments section below and I’d be happy to send the original files.  Lastly, if you have any labor tips and tricks, leave a comment below!  (Click images below for PDF files.)

Building the Toolbox:  Labor Coping Strategy Flashcards for a Natural, Unmedicated Birth

Building the Toolbox:  Labor Coping Strategy Flashcards for a Natural, Unmedicated Birth

Building the Toolbox:  Labor Coping Strategy Flashcards for a Natural, Unmedicated Birth

