Summer Adventure: The Fourth of July

by Lauren Kay Weber

Well, the Fourth came and went with no baby in sight, though there was one moment that seemed promising (more on that later).  What does a couple with a baby imminent do on July 4th in 100 degree heat?  Well, let’s take a look.

We had a pretty lazy day at home.  We literally didn’t step outside for anything but the mail and taking out the trash all day.  And that suited us just fine.  Josh got lots of good work done for his podcast, In Reel Lifewhich has a new full-length episode releasing today, by the way.  While he was productive, I spent my time playing dots on my iPad (totally addicting) and watched the Independence Day marathon of Pawn Stars.  Oh, how the mighty have fallen, eh?

Once we had had enough lazing about, we had a traditional American Independence Day meal – hot dogs and chips for Josh and faux chicken nuggets for me.  There are pictures of this part of the evening on Facebook.  That being said, I’m going to leave you to your own devices if you want to see them because I look, well, let’s just say that I don’t really look like the camera is my best friend.

For dessert, we had s’mores!  But not just any s’more.  S’mores with the marshmallows cooked over a candle.  A candle!  Why?  Well, by that time, we had made our way over to the MTC athletic field to stake out our spot to watch the fireworks as they ‘sploded over the stadium.  Of course, though we had remembered to pack the candle and the lighter (not to mention the s’mores supplies themselves), what was forgotten was an implement for roasting said marshmallows.  A little ingenuity and an up-do provided a solution:  an unbent bobby pin meant we were in business.  Mostly, being “in business” meant catching the marshmallow on fire over and over until it was mushy enough to melt the chocolate on the graham cracker.

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

The fireworks show was actually pretty long, but – at the risk of sounding like an east coast snob – not really that… exciting.  Last year, I was in Boston watching the booms over the bay and, while I don’t remember thinking to myself, Wow!  That was amazing!, I definitely don’t remember thinking Are fireworks always this rinky-dink?  So, that’s a thing.

After the fireworks, Josh and I lit up some sparklers and pulled out the camera for some extended shutter speed fun.  Can you see the “I [heart] U” in the picture of Josh below?

Unfortunately, my attempt at sparklers included part of the metal falling off the sparkler and burning the tar out of my foot.  It’s just a very small burn, though, so happy day!  All is well.

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

(c) Lauren Kay Weber 2013

Even though we had lounged on the grass under the (unseeable) stars for nearly an hour after the show, when we got up to trek back to the car, there were cars in park on the road because of the traffic situation.  Boo sauce.  We had mentally and emotionally prepared for this inevitability, though, so we weren’t too stressed over it.  And then it happened.  I had the mother of all the contractions that I’ve had thus far.  It was long and intense, so much so that I could not really think of anything else but pacing and breathing during it.  But, it wasn’t necessarily painful… just arresting.  With that over, there was a slightly higher sense of urgency thinking that we might be stuck for hours in traffic with me in labor.  Lo tov.  (Not good, in Hebrew.)

We got back to the car and sped around the corner… all just to be the last car in a very long line of hundreds of other cars.  We took out the iPhone and found a connection of tiny back roads at the very foot of Y mountain that brought us, albeit in a roundabout way, home safe and sound in just 12 minutes.  Instead of 12 hours.  Score.

Oh, and by the way, I can assure you I’m not writing this post from the birthing center.  That big ol’ contraction was just a big tease.

